Nepal News: Nepali Congress candidate Ramchandra Paudel became the President of Nepal - Newztezz Online


Thursday, March 9, 2023

Nepal News: Nepali Congress candidate Ramchandra Paudel became the President of Nepal


Nepal News: Kathmandu. Nepali Congress candidate Ramchandra Poudel has been declared victorious in the presidential election held on Thursday and will be the third President of the country. Poudel has been elected president at a time when political instability is on the rise and a weak coalition government is ruling under the leadership of Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda'. Paudel was the joint candidate of an eight-party coalition, including the Nepali Congress and the Communist Party of Nepal- Maoist Center (CPN- Maoist Centre). Paudel was supported by 214 members of parliament and 352 members of provincial assemblies.

Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba tweeted, "Heartiest congratulations to my friend Ramchandra Poudel on being elected President." With the support of eight parties, 78-year-old Poudel's election was almost certain. Against him was Subhash Chandra Nembang of the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) led by former Prime Minister KP Sharma 'Oli'.

This is the third presidential election after the country was declared a republic in 2008. The tenure of Nepal's outgoing President Bidya Devi Bhandari ends on March 12. There are a total of 882 electors in the presidential election, of which 332 are members of Parliament, while 550 are members of seven provincial assemblies.

Election Commission spokesperson Shaligram said that 518 members of provincial assemblies and 313 members of parliament took part in the presidential election. Paudel had earlier expressed confidence that members of the legislature would vote for him.

He said, “I am quite sure that the members of the Federal Parliament and the Provincial Assemblies will vote for me. I believe they will take the right decision about my long struggle. ”The election result could affect the stability of the government led by Prime Minister Pushpakamal Dahal 'Prachanda'.

Following the political controversy over his support to Paudel in the presidential election, former Prime Minister K.P. The CPN-UML led by Sharma had withdrawn its support to the current government. CPN-UML is the second largest party in Nepal.

The term of office of the President shall be five years from the date of election and a person can be elected to this office only for two terms. Although the office of the President is largely ceremonial, interest in the post has increased in recent times among political parties in Nepal due to the discretionary powers conferred by the constitution.

The Rashtriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has decided to remain neutral in the presidential election. It has 14 members in the House of Representatives and 28 in the Provincial Assemblies. The Nepal Workers and Peasants Party also did not participate in the presidential election.

Poudel was born on 14 October 1944 in Bahunpokhri in a middle-class farming family and joined politics at the age of 16. He became a founding member of the Nepal Students' Union, the student wing of the Nepali Congress, in the year 1970.

In 1980, Paudel was appointed as the Vice President of the Nepali Congress (Banned) Tanhun District Committee. He was promoted in the year 1987 and given a place in the Central Working Committee of the party. In the same year, he was made a member of the party's campaign committee. In 2005, Paudel became the General Secretary of the party, in 2007 he was made the Vice President of the party. He also assumed the role of acting President in the year 2015.

He played an active role in the Satyagraha in the year 1985. Paudel also played an important role in the first mass movement in the year 1990 and in the second part of the mass movement in the year 2006. He spent 12 years in prison fighting against the authoritarian Panchayat regime.

Poudel was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1991 from Tanhun District and has since been elected to Parliament for six consecutive terms from the same district.

No comments:

Post a Comment