Team India won the 2024 T20 World Cup, defeating South Africa by 7 runs in a nail-biting match - Newztezz - Latest News Today, Breaking News, Top News Headlines, Latest Sports News


Sunday, June 30, 2024

Team India won the 2024 T20 World Cup, defeating South Africa by 7 runs in a nail-biting match


India defeated South Africa by 7 runs in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. With this, India won the ICC World Cup after 2011. At the same time, the  Indian team bid farewell to head coach Rahul Dravid with a win. In this final match played at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados, Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first.  

Batting first, India scored 176 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. Virat Kohli scored the highest score of 76(59) for India. He hit 6 fours and 2 sixes in his innings. Akshar played a brilliant innings of 47(31). He hit 1 four and 4 sixes in his innings.

Virat and Akshar made a crucial partnership of 72 (54) runs for the fourth wicket. Shivam Dubey contributed 27 (16) runs. In his short innings, Dubey hit 3 fours and a six. Virat and Dubey made a partnership of 57 (33) runs for the 5th wicket. Keshav Maharaj and Anrich Norkhia took the maximum 2-2 wickets for South Africa. Marco Jansen and Kagiso Rabada were successful in taking one wicket each. 

South Africa, chasing the target, was able to score only 169 runs by losing 8 wickets in 20 overs. Heinrich Klaasen scored the most runs from the team. He scored a half-century of 52 runs with the help of 2 fours and 5 sixes in 27 balls. He scored a half-century in 23 balls. Quinton de Kock scored 39 runs with the help of 4 fours and a six in 31 balls. Tristan Stubbs scored 31 runs with the help of 3 fours and a six in 21 balls. 

De Kock and Stubbs added 58 (38) runs for the third wicket. Klaasen and De Kock added 36 (23) runs for the fourth wicket. David Miller scored 21 runs in 17 balls with the help of one four and one six. Klaasen and Miller added 45 (22) runs. Hardik Pandya took the maximum three wickets for India. Arshdeep Singh and Jaspreet Bumrah took 2-2 wickets. Axar Patel got one wicket. 

India's playing XI:  Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dubey, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah. 

South Africa Playing XI:  Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (captain), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrique Norkhia, Tabraiz Shamsi. 

No comments:

Post a Comment