1st Test: KL Rahul made these records by scoring a half-century against South Africa - Newztezz Online


Wednesday, December 27, 2023

1st Test: KL Rahul made these records by scoring a half-century against South Africa


India scored 208 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in 59 overs at stumps on the first day in the first match of the  two-match Test series against South Africa. Due to rain, play on the first day of the first Test match had to be ended early. For India, KL Rahul played an important role in taking the score to 200 runs by playing a brilliant unbeaten half-century. During his brilliant half-century innings, he also made some records. KL Rahul is making his Test debut as a wicketkeeper in this match.  

KL Rahul has become the third Indian after Vijay Manjrekar and Dinesh Karthik to score 50+ in Tests while playing as a batsman as well as a wicketkeeper.

Most 50+ scores for India in SENA (World Test Championship matches, in innings)

8 - Pujara (32)

6 - Pant (26)

5 - KL Rahul (15)*

4- Shardul (16)

4 - Rohit (17)

4 - Kohli (24)

4 - Rahane (29)

KL Rahul as wicketkeeper

1st ODI innings – 80 vs Australia

1st T20 innings – 56 vs New Zealand

1st Test innings - 70* vs South Africa

Rahul remained at the crease after scoring 70 runs in 105 balls with the help of 10 fours and 2 sixes. He made an important partnership of 43 (68) runs for the seventh wicket with Shardul Thakur. In the first innings, Virat Kohli scored 38(64) and Shreyas Iyer scored 31(50). These two batsmen made a partnership of 68 (95) runs. Kagiso Rabada took maximum 5 wickets for South Africa. Nandre Berger got 2 wickets and Marco Jansen got one wicket. 

India's playing eleven:  Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna. 

South Africa's playing eleven:  Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Tony DeGeorge, Temba Bavuma (captain), Keegan Pietersen, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne (wicketkeeper), Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Berger. 

No comments:

Post a Comment