Mumbai's third consecutive win in Women's T20 League 2023, beat Delhi by 8 wickets - Newztezz Online


Friday, March 10, 2023

Mumbai's third consecutive win in Women's T20 League 2023, beat Delhi by 8 wickets


The seventh match of the Women's T20 League 2023 was played between Delhi and Mumbai at the Dr. DY Patil Stadium. Batting first after winning the toss, the Delhi team got all out after scoring 105 runs. In response, Mumbai achieved the target by losing 2 wickets in 15 overs. In this way, Mumbai registered their third consecutive win in the tournament and occupy the first place in the points table.

Delhi team stacked in front of Mumbai bowlers

Delhi did not start well and Shafali Verma (2) once again failed to play a good innings. After this, Delhi got two more setbacks in the form of Alice Capsey (6) and Marijan Kapp (2). Captain Beth Mooney and Jemimah Rodrigues tried to handle the innings.

There was a 50-run partnership for the fourth wicket between the two batsmen, but Saika Ishaq broke the partnership by bowling Rodrigues. Jemima scored 25 runs in 18 balls. After this Saika made Captain Mooney walk too. Lanning missed out on a half-century and was dismissed for 43 off 41 balls.

Apart from these two batsmen, no other Delhi batsman could do anything special and in front of Mumbai's strong bowling, the whole team was all out after scoring 105 runs in 18 overs. Saika Ishaq, Issy Wong and Hayley Mathews got 3-3 wickets for Mumbai. One wicket came in the name of Pooja Vastrakar.

easy target

Chasing down a comfortable target, Mumbai openers Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Mathews got the team off to a good start. Both the batsmen shared a 65-run partnership for the first wicket, collecting runs fast. Mathews got out after scoring 32 runs in 31 balls with the help of 6 fours. At the same time, Bhatia scored 41 runs in 32 balls, which included 8 fours.

However, after this Nat Siever Brunt and captain Harmanpreet Kaur did not let the team suffer any further setbacks. Took both the teams to the destination of victory. Brunt returned unbeaten after scoring 23 and Harmanpreet Kaur 11 runs.

After Mumbai's third consecutive win, there was a lot of reaction from the fans on social media.

See here the reactions on Twitter-


No comments:

Post a Comment