IPL 2020: Punjab's victory over Hyderabad in a low-scoring match - Newztezz Online


Sunday, October 25, 2020

IPL 2020: Punjab's victory over Hyderabad in a low-scoring match

Chris Jordan and Arshdeep Singh's deadly bowling helped Kings XI Punjab to a 12-run victory over the Sunrisers in Dubai on Saturday. 
Saturday's match was loss-scoring in the 13th season of the IPL T20 cricket tournament. Punjab's batting performance was disappointing after they were invited to bat first and set an easy target of 127 against Hyderabad. But Hyderabad could not achieve this target. Hyderabad were bowled out for 114 in 19.5 overs. Earlier, Punjab had scored 126 runs. With this victory, Punjab has come in fifth place.

The opening pair of David Warner and Johnny Bairstow got off to a great start against an easy target of 127 runs. The pair put on a 56-run partnership in 6.2 overs. Thus, the victory of Hyderabad seemed easy but later the bowlers of Punjab gave a strong performance. David Warner scored 35 off 20 balls while Bairstow scored 19 off 20 balls.

Vijay Shankar then played a 26-run fighting innings but it was not enough to give the team the victory. Hyderabad scored 100 for four but later lost the remaining six wickets for 14 runs. Hyderabad were bowled out for 114 in 19.5 overs. For Punjab, Arshdeep Singh and Chris Jord were quick for three wickets each. While Mohammad Shami, Murugan Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi took one wicket each.

Earlier, the Kings XI Punjab team could not score a big score due to the superb performance of the bowlers of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Punjab scored 126 for seven in the allotted 20 overs. Punjab made a solid start after batting first. The opening pair of captain Lokesh Rahul and Mandeep Singh shared a 37-run partnership. However, the latter Punjab could not register a big score as they lost wickets at regular intervals. The batsmen failed to play big innings even after being set.

Rahul scored 27 and Mandeep Singh 17 runs. While explosive batsman Chris Gayle also did not perform as expected. He scored 20 runs but for that he played 20 balls. In addition, offensive batsman Glenn Maxwell also scored 12 runs to collect the pavilion. The highest score for the team was scored by Nicholas Flood. Flood played an unbeaten innings of 32 off 28 balls with two fours. For Hyderabad, Sandeep Sharma, Jason Holder and Rashid Khan took two wickets each.

No comments:

Post a Comment