T20 World Cup 2024: New Zealand beat Papua New Guinea by 7 wickets on the back of Ferguson's dangerous bowling - Newztezz - Latest News Today, Breaking News, Top News Headlines, Latest Sports News


Tuesday, June 18, 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: New Zealand beat Papua New Guinea by 7 wickets on the back of Ferguson's dangerous bowling


In the 39th match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, New Zealand defeated Papua New Guinea by 7 wickets with the help of Lockie Ferguson's brilliant bowling. With this, the Kiwi team bid farewell to the tournament with a win and Papua New Guinea with a defeat. Both the teams were already out of the tournament. In this match played at Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bowl first. This match was the last international match of New Zealand's Trent Boult. 

The entire team of Papua New Guinea was all out for 78 in 19.4 overs. Charles Amini scored the highest number of runs for the team, 17(25). He hit 2 fours in this innings. Norman Vanua scored 14(13) runs. He hit a four and a six in this innings. Sese Bau contributed 12 runs in 27 balls with the help of a four. Lockie Ferguson took the maximum number of 3 wickets from New Zealand. He bowled 4 maiden overs of his quota. Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee and Trent Boult were successful in taking 2-2 wickets each. Mitchell Santner took one wicket. 

Chasing the target, New Zealand won the match by scoring 79 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 12.2 overs. Devon Conway scored the most runs for the Kiwi team. He played an innings of 35 runs with the help of 2 fours and 3 sixes in 32 balls. Daryl Mitchell remained unbeaten after scoring 19 runs with the help of 3 fours in 12 balls. Kane Williamson contributed 18* runs with the help of 2 fours in 17 balls. Conway and Williamson shared a 34 (31) run partnership for the third wicket. Kabua Morea took the most 2 wickets for Papua New Guinea. Semo Kamia got one wicket. 

New Zealand Playing XI:  Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult. 

Papua New Guinea Playing XI:  Tony Ura, Assad Vala (captain), Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Hiri Hiri, Chad Soper, Kiplin Doriga (wicketkeeper), Norman Vanua, Eli Nao, Kabua Morea, Semo Kamea. 

No comments:

Post a Comment