Gill and Iyer's poor performance in test matches continues, figures will surprise you - Newztezz Online


Monday, January 29, 2024

Gill and Iyer's poor performance in test matches continues, figures will surprise you


Touted as the next big thing in the Indian cricket setup, Shubman Gill continues to underperform. He once again failed to perform well in the first Test match against England. Similar is the situation with Shreyas Iyer . The poor form of both the batsmen is a cause of concern for  the Indian team . If we talk about the last 10 innings of Gill and Iyer, the figures are astonishing. If this continues, both of them may lose their place in the Test team.  

Performance of Gill and Shreyas in last 10 test innings 

Shubman Gill- 160 runs at an average of 17.77

Shreyas Iyer- 131 runs at an average of 14.55 

Shubman Gill in the last ten innings has 0(2), 23(66), 10(11), 36(55), 26(37), 2(12), 29(37)*, 10(12), 6(11 ) and 18 (19) runs. Shreyas Iyer in the last ten innings has scored 13 (31), 35 (63), 4*(6),0(2), 6(12), 31(50), 26( 27), 0(2), 12(10) and 4(15) If this continues then both of them may have to lose their place in the Test team. 

Talking about Hyderabad Test, England was bundled out on the score of 246 in the first innings. The entire Indian team was all out on the score of 436. England's second innings was reduced to a score of 420 in 102.1 overs. Ollie Pope played a brilliant century (196) in the second innings. Whereas in its second innings on the fourth day, India collapsed to the score of 202 in 69.2 overs and lost the match by 28 runs. 

With this victory, England has taken a 1-0 lead in the five-match series. This is the first time that while playing a Test match at home, the Indian team has faced defeat after getting a lead of more than 100 runs in the first innings. In the second innings for India, captain Rohit Sharma scored the highest score of 39 runs, while Ravichandran Ashwin and Shrikar Bharat scored 28 runs each.

On debut for England, Tom Hartley took 7 wickets for 62 runs in the second innings. Apart from this, Joe Root and Jack Leach managed to take 1-1 wicket. Jasprit Bumrah took maximum 4 wickets in the second innings for India. Apart from this, Ravichandran Ashwin took 3 wickets, Ravindra Jadeja took 2 wickets and Axar Patel took 1 wicket. 

England's playing eleven:  Jack Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Ben Fox (wicketkeeper), Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, Jack Leach.

India's playing eleven:  Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Srikar Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj. 

No comments:

Post a Comment