Vijay Hazare Trophy: Sanju Samson's century, Varun Chakraborty wreaked havoc, Ajinkya Rahane flopped - Newztezz Online


Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Sanju Samson's century, Varun Chakraborty wreaked havoc, Ajinkya Rahane flopped

The final round of group matches in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023 was played on 5 December and the names of the teams going to the next round were revealed. Rajasthan and Haryana had already made it to the quarterfinals and the remaining teams were Mumbai, Vidarbha, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. Whereas, pre-quarterfinal matches will be played between Kerala, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Bengal. In the match played today, Sanju Samson scored the second century of his List A career, while Arpit Guleria took 8 wickets in his name. Experienced batsman Ajinkya Rahane's bat remained silent and was out cheaply. Varun Chakraborty bowled tremendously and took 5 wickets for just 9 runs.

Let's take a look at the status of all the matches:

Group A

Saurashtra vs Sikkim

Batting first, Sikkim scored only 165/9 after playing the entire overs, in response to which Saurashtra won by scoring 167 runs without losing any wicket in 16.3 overs.

Kerala vs Railways

Playing first, Railways scored 255/5, in reply Kerala team could score only 237/8 despite captain Sanju Samson's inning of 128 runs.

Mumbai vs Odisha

In this match, Mumbai had to face defeat by 86 runs. Odisha batted first and scored 199/9, in the reply innings Mumbai was all out after scoring 133. Mumbai captain Ajinkya Rahane could score only 7 runs.

Pondicherry vs Tripura

Playing first, Tripura scored 160, in response to which Pondicherry was reduced to 135 and lost the match by 25 runs.

group b

Maharashtra vs Manipur

In this match, Maharashtra scored 427/6 thanks to Ankit Bavane's innings of 167 runs, in response to which Manipur could only score 260/6.

Chhattisgarh vs Jharkhand

Playing first, Chhattisgarh scored 274/8 after playing the entire overs, in the reply innings Jharkhand was restricted to 178 in 39.1 overs.

Hyderabad vs Meghalaya

Batting first, Meghalaya team was all out on the score of 158, Hyderabad achieved the target of 159 in the 19th over by losing 1 wicket.

Services vs Vidarbha

In this match, Services scored 282/6 in 50 overs, in response to which Vidarbha could only reach the score of 267/8 and lost by 15 runs.

group c

Karnataka vs Mizoram

Mizoram's team was all out in the 38th over and scored 124, in response to which Karnataka won in the 18th over by losing 4 wickets and scoring the required runs.

Haryana vs Jammu and Kashmir

Batting first, Jammu team scored 250 runs losing all its wickets, in reply to the target of 251, Haryana won by scoring 254/6 with two balls remaining.

Bihar vs Chandigarh

Playing first, Chandigarh scored 253/8, in response to which Bihar got all out by scoring 153.

Delhi vs Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand was all out after scoring 221 in 45.5 overs, in reply Delhi collapsed on the score of 170 in 46.2 overs and lost the match.

group d

Assam vs Rajasthan

Batting first, Assam collapsed on a paltry score of 118, in response to which Rajasthan won by scoring 119 runs losing 2 wickets in 24 overs.

Arunachal Pradesh vs Uttar Pradesh

In this match, Arunachal team was all out after scoring only 102 runs, UP team achieved the target in the 14th over with 8 wickets remaining.

Gujarat vs Himachal Pradesh

Playing first, Gujarat team scored 327 runs after losing all its wickets in 49 overs, thanks to a century by Urvil Patel. Arpit Guleria of Himachal Pradesh made 8 batsmen his victims. In response to the target of 328, Himachal Pradesh team could score only 319 runs.

Group E

bengal vs punjab

Batting first, Bengal scored 242/9, in response to which Punjab team was all out on the score of 190.

Nagaland vs Tamil Nadu

Playing first, Nagaland was all out on the score of 69 in 19.4 overs, in reply Tamil Nadu won the match in the eighth over without losing any wicket. Tamil Nadu bowler Varun Chakraborty took 5 wickets.

Baroda vs Goa

Batting first, Goa scored 228, in reply Baroda won by scoring 232/6 in 47 overs.

No comments:

Post a Comment