World Cup 2023: ICC admitted mistake in Pakistan match, clarified on DRS controversy - Newztezz - Latest News Today, Breaking News, Top News Headlines, Latest Sports News


Sunday, October 29, 2023

World Cup 2023: ICC admitted mistake in Pakistan match, clarified on DRS controversy


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has issued a clarification regarding the decision to give Rassie van der Dussen out LBW in the match played between Pakistan and South Africa in the ODI World Cup-2023. ICC has accepted its mistake regarding this and has also said that there was no mistake of any kind in this decision. A match was played between South Africa and Pakistan on Friday in Chennai in which South Africa was given out by on-field umpire Paul Rifle in the 19th over of the innings. Rassie Van der Dussen took a review on this and this is where all the confusion happened.

In the review, ball tracking technology first told that the ball is missing the leg stump. But this graphics was immediately removed. After this another graphic came in which the umpire's call was explained. Both graphics, however, stated that the ball had fallen over the line, and the decision was an umpire's call. The latter graphics were considered. Dussain looked quite angry with this.

ICC admitted mistake

ICC started being cornered regarding this on social media and now ICC has given clarification on this. The ICC has said that the first graphics that were shown were shown by mistake. The ICC has said that the graphics shown the second time were correct and hence the decision given regarding Dussein is correct. The ICC spokesperson has said that the first graphics that came in the review against Dussein were by mistake and the graphics that came the second time were correct.

Pakistan's defeat

In this match, South Africa defeated Pakistan by one run in a thrilling match. Pakistan had scored 270 runs while batting first. South Africa achieved this target by losing nine wickets in 16 balls. There was a lot of controversy regarding the review in the end also. In the 46th over, Pakistan's fast bowler Haris Rauf hit the ball on the pads of Tabrez Shamsi. The umpire did not give him out. Pakistan took a review in which the umpire's call came. Here the ball was in line, its impact was also in line. But Haris Rauf was bowling from the corner of the crease, which ball tracking deemed did not hit the stumps and hence the umpire's call was upheld. Pakistan team was very disappointed after this decision.

No comments:

Post a Comment