Ind vs SL: Sri-lanka announced 24 member squad for odi and t20i series - Newztezz Online


Friday, July 16, 2021

Ind vs SL: Sri-lanka announced 24 member squad for odi and t20i series

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Friday announced its 24-man squad for the ODI and T20I series between India and Sri Lanka starting on Sunday. 
Lahiru Kumara has also been taken in the Sri Lankan team for this series, who was running out for a long time. According to a Cricbuzz report, Sri Lanka Cricket has also included uncapped Lahiru Udana, Shiran Fernando and Ishaan Jayaratne for the ODI and T20I series against India. The Lankan Cricket Board has assigned Dasun Shanaka for this series. 

The team also includes Dhananjay Laxman and Praveen Jayavikrama, who played in ODIs till now and both these players are set to make their T20 debuts in the series against India. Captain Dasun Shanaka will be assisted by Dhananjay de Silva as the vice-captain. Earlier, wicket-keeper batsman Kushal Perera was ruled out of this series due to injury, while Binura Fernando, who is recovering from injury, has been selected for the T20 series. 

The series between the two countries was extended for a few days after the cases of Corona came to light in the Sri Lankan team. Earlier this series was to be held from July 13, which will now start from July 18. The first match of the three-match ODI series between the two teams will be held in Colombo on Sunday, July 18. 

After the ODI series, the three-match T20 series will start from July 25. All matches between India and Sri Lanka will be held at Colombo's R.K. Will be played at Premadasa Stadium. Under the captaincy of Shikhar Dhawan and the coaching of Rahul Dravid, the Indian team reached here in early July. After spending the first few days in Quarantine, the team fiercely participated in the practice session and took stock of their preparations by playing intra-squad matches.

Sri Lanka squad:
Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Pathum Nisanka, Charith Asalanka, Vanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando (For T20 only), Dushmantha Chamira, Lakshman Sandakan, Akila Dhananjay, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjay Laxman, Ishaan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayavikrama, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Ishuru Udana.

No comments:

Post a Comment