IPL: Hyderabad kept alive their hopes of reaching the playoffs by beating Bangalore - Newztezz Online


Sunday, November 1, 2020

IPL: Hyderabad kept alive their hopes of reaching the playoffs by beating Bangalore

With the help of Riddhiman Saha and Manish Pandey, Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets in a match played in Sharjah on Saturday. 
Bangalore's batting was disappointing and they set an easy target of 121 against Hyderabad. Hyderabad lost five wickets in 14.1 overs. With this victory, Hyderabad has kept alive its hopes of reaching the playoffs. Despite the defeat, Bangalore remains second in the points table. Hyderabad is fourth with 12 points.

The target was 121 against Hyderabad but it started badly. The team lost the wicket of skipper opener David Warner by 10 runs. Warner was out for 8. Later, his fellow openers Riddhiman Saha and Manish Pandey took over. The pair had a half-century partnership. Saha hit 39 off 32 balls with four fours and a six. Pandey hit 26 off 19 balls, including three fours and a six.

However, the team lost the top two wickets after these two were dismissed. Ken Williamson and Abhishek Sharma were all out for eight. But Jason Holder kept one edge and led the team to victory. Holder hit an unbeaten 26 off 10 balls with one four and three sixes. Yuzvendra Chahal was two wickets quick for Bangalore. While Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini and Isuru Udana were one wicket each.

Earlier, Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat first. However, Bangalore did not have a good start. The team lost two wickets for 28 runs. Devdutt Padikkal scored five and captain Virat Kohli seven. However, Josh Phillip and Abby de Villiers tried to handle the batting but both were out after the batsmen were set.

Philippe made 32 off 31 balls with the help of four fours while de Villiers made 24 off 24 balls with one four and one six. In addition, Washington Sundar also contributed 21 runs. No Bangalore batsman was able to play big innings. Gurkirat Singh Maan contributed 15 runs. From Hyderabad, Sandeep Sharma and Jason Holder took two wickets each while Natarajan, Shahbaz Nadeem and Rashid Khan had one wicket each.

No comments:

Post a Comment